//
you're reading...
Dairy free, Gluten free, Sugar free, Sweets

“Not-Reeses” Peanut butter cups

I was in need for chocolate this evening and remembered I’d found a recipe on Tasty Yummies which I’d been meaning to try …

As usual, I didn’t have all the right ingredients, so I made some changes…and they worked out well (update: now also tested on sugar eating friends, who said they were delicious). The recipe makes 12 mini muffin size peanut butter cups.

    Chocolate
    150 g sugar and dairy free dark chocolate
    1 tbsp coconut oil
    1 tbsp agave nectar

Melt the chocolate and coconut oil in a double water bath. Mix well when melted. Take the bowl off the heat and mix in the sweetener.

Add approx 1 tsp of chocolate to each mini muffin paper cup (or to the greased mini muffin tin if you have one), you should have about half the chocolate left. Swirl it around so the chocolate covers the sides of the cup as well. Put the muffin cups in the freezer to set while you start on the filling.

    Filling
    1/2 cup organic peanut butter
    1 tbsp coconut oil
    1 tbsp chia meal (ground chia seeds)
    1 tsp pure vanilla extract
    Sweetener to taste (I used 1/2 tbsp agave nectar)

Add all the ingredients to a food processor and whizz till smooth, add more oil if too dry.

Add a dollop of filling in each chocolate cup, smooth it out with the back of a teaspoon. Add chocolate over the top to cover completely. Put the peanut butter cups back in the freezer for about 30 minutes, they’ll now be set and ready to serve! Keep them in the fridge if you have any leftovers…

20120421-135133.jpg

About Trudy

Newly married engineer trying to force variety into the diet by blogging about it...

Discussion

3 thoughts on ““Not-Reeses” Peanut butter cups

  1. Hey there Trudy – so glad you were inspired by my almond butter cups 🙂 I really like the changes you made too. Would love a link back or mention of my original recipe, if you don’t mind. Thanks so so much!

    Posted by Tasty Yummies | April 22, 2012, 17:43
    • Hi Beth, I’m so sorry the reference fell out, I’m swapping between iPad and iPhone and it got lost… Now it shoul be back to the way intended 🙂 thanx for stopping by!

      Posted by Trudy | April 22, 2012, 18:44
      • No worries, that’s actually how I had found your recipe, since I got the ping back 🙂 I have been excited to make these again with peanut butter so I am glad to know they are just as good! Thanks again.

        Posted by Tasty Yummies | April 22, 2012, 19:10

Leave a Reply

